Press release

Germany to host “BreakBulk Europe” for the first time in 2018 Published on 03 April 2017

Successful acquisition for the port and logistics location of Bremen: following intensive negotiations, bremenports convinced the international trade fair to opt for Bremen. The Hanseatic city will be the centre of the breakbulk community from 29 to 31 Mai 2018.

Boxes, crates & mandolins – in days gone by, that was the phrase that dockworkers jokingly used when referring to bulk and project cargo. Nowadays, everything that cannot be transported in a container because of its size, weight or quantity is summed up under the overall term of breakbulk. This covers everything from steel goods and pipes to forest products, gigantic machine parts, turbines or power station components: these are goods that need special services and handling and that have to be inspected and monitored at every intermediate stop en route to their destination.

Because of the particular requirements of these goods, breakbulk is a highly specialised sector. All over the world, qualified experts attend to these sensitive and, in most cases, valuable cargoes. And for years, there has been a highly respected annual event for these specialists, the “BreakBulk” conference and trade fair. Organised by the British company Breakbulk Events & Media, a member of the ITE Group, the fair will be held in Bremen for the first time from 29 to 31 May next year. “This is a fantastic success that we owe to the joint efforts of the port management company bremenports, the colleagues at Messe Bremen, the city’s trade fair company, and BTZ, Bremen’s tourism organisation,” says Robert Howe, Managing Director of bremenports.

Despite strong competition from other cities in and outside Germany, bremenports convinced the organisers that Bremen was the ideal venue. Until 2017, the fair was always held in Antwerp. “Bremen’s excellent conditions scored top marks,” said Howe. “Our overall package of logistics expertise, internationally established exhibition centre and the maritime flair of our Hanseatic city ultimately won over the British organisers,” explained Andreas Marquardt, Head of Sales at Messe Bremen. Sven Riekers, Head of Breakbulk Sales at the BLG Logistics Group in Bremen and Bremerhaven, added: “The ports of Bremen naturally also benefit from their role as two of the leading breakbulk ports in Europe. The decision to hold the fair here is a logical consequence of our activities.”

In recent years, the fair has evolved into an absolute crowd-puller: in 2016, more than 7600 attendees visited the stands of roughly 350 exhibitors at the Breakbulk in Antwerp. “We expect to see roughly the same number of exhibitors and visitors in 2018,” says bremenports MD Robert Howe.

Rüdiger Staats Press officer

bremenports GmbH & Co. KG

+49 471 309 01-105
Write e-mail

Holger Bruns Press officer

bremenports GmbH & Co. KG

+49 471 309 01-103
Write e-mail

Pressemitteilung Aktuelles rund um die Häfen

„BreakBulk Europe“ 2018 zum ersten Mal in Deutschland Veröffentlicht am 03. April 2017

Akquisitionserfolg für den Hafen- und Logistikstandort Bremen: Nach intensiven Verhandlungen gewinnt bremenports die internationale Fachmesse für Bremen – Vom 29. bis 31. Mai 2018 wird die Hansestadt zum Zentrum der Breakbulk-Community.

Kisten, Kästen, Mandolinen – so bezeichnete man im Hafen zu früheren Zeiten etwas scherzhaft massenhafte Stückgüter und Projektladung. Alles, was aufgrund der Abmessung, des Gewichtes oder der Menge nicht in Containern auf die Reise geht, wird inzwischen unter dem Oberbegriff Breakbulk zusammengefasst. Stahlerzeugnisse und Röhren gehören ebenso dazu wie Forstprodukte oder übergroße Maschinenteile, Turbinen und Kraftwerkskomponenten. Güter und Waren, die einer besonderen Dienstleistung und Handhabung unterliegen und die bei jedem Zwischenstopp kontrolliert und überwacht werden müssen.

So anspruchsvoll die Güter, so spezialisiert ist die Branche. Rund um die Welt kümmern sich ausgewiesene Fachleute um die sensible und in den meisten Fällen hochwertvolle Ladung. Die Experten haben seit Jahren einen anerkannten Branchentreff: die Konferenz und Messe „BreakBulk“. Die von der britischen Breakbulk Events & Media, einem Unternehmen der ITE-Group, veranstaltete Messe kommt im nächsten Jahr vom 29. bis 31. Mai erstmals nach Bremen. „Das ist ein großartiger Erfolg, der auf die gemeinsamen Anstrengungen der Hafengesellschaft bremenports gemeinsam mit den Kollegen der Messe Bremen und der BTZ, Bremer Touristik-Zentrale, zurückgeht“, freut sich bremenports-Geschäftsführer Robert Howe.

Gegen starke Mitbewerber im In- und Ausland konnte sich bremenports bei den Briten durchsetzen. Die Messe war bis zum Jahr 2017 in Antwerpen beheimatet. „Bremen konnte mit besten Bedingungen punkten“, so Howe. „Vor allem unser Gesamtpaket aus Logistik-Know-how, international anerkanntem Messeplatz und dem maritimen Flair der Hansestadt hat die Briten überzeugt“, sagt Andreas Marquardt, Vertriebsleiter der Messe Bremen. Und Sven Riekers, Vertriebsleiter der Breakbulk-Aktivitäten der BLG Logistics Group in Bremen und Bremerhaven, fügt an: „Die Bremischen Häfen punkten natürlich auch als zwei der führenden Breakbulk-Häfen in Europa. Insofern ist die Entscheidung, die Messe hierher zu legen, eine logische Folge unserer Aktivitäten.“

Die Messe hat sich in den Vorjahren zu einem wahren Besuchermagneten entwickelt. Mehr als 7.600 Teilnehmer besuchten im Jahr 2016 die Stände von rund 350 Ausstellern auf der Breakbulk in Antwerpen. „Für 2018 rechnen wir mit einer vergleichbaren Zahl an Ausstellern und Messebesuchern“, so bremenports-Chef Robert Howe.

Rüdiger Staats Pressesprecher

bremenports GmbH & Co. KG

0471 309 01-105
E-Mail schreiben

Holger Bruns Pressesprecher

bremenports GmbH & Co. KG

0471 309 01-103
E-Mail schreiben