bremenports Autoterminal
2.1 million converted vehicles

Bremerhaven First-class automobile terminal

With a throughput of more than 2 million vehicles per annum, the ports of Bremen are firmly established as one of the largest automobile hubs in the world. To cope with these freight volumes, Bremerhaven has highly efficient facilities at Kaiserhäfen, Nordhafen and Osthafen as well as gigantic operating sites immediately beside these harbours: the total area of 2.4 million square metres can accommodate around 95,000 cars, including covered storage for 50,000.

Triple benefits: Logistics, produktion, service

Bremerhaven is immensely important for the international automotive industry. Numerous specialists at the terminal attend to the transport and transhipment of the new vehicles and ensure the reliable supply of assemblies and components to the production plants. What’s more, our technical centres – the “biggest repair shop in Europe” – deal with more than 230,000 vehicles every year, handling inspections, retrofits and finishing.

Pioneering: Transhipment and High & Heavy

Bremerhaven is a major transhipment port. Although countless vehicles arrive here by sea and are transhipped to feeder vessels for onward transport, export plays by far the dominant role, accounting for a share of around 80 per cent. Particularly heavy vehicles such as rail freight wagons, special machinery or ro-ro trailers that are preloaded at the terminal are all handled in the “High & Heavy” sector.

Attractive Location – important employer

The Bremen/Bremerhaven group of ports is one of the most efficient logistics centres in Europe. The twin ports fulfil vital tasks for Germany’s business and export activities. They also play a significant role for the labour market: the port business directly or indirectly safeguards the jobs of more than 77,000 people, equivalent to roughly 20 per cent of the total jobs in the Federal Land of Bremen.

Facts
  • Europe’s second-largest terminal for automobile transhipment
  • Annual throughput: 2.1 million vehicles (2016), 80 per cent of which for export = roughly one third of the total German automobile production
  • 18 berths for car carriers (quay length: 3 kilometres)
  • 1400 inbound car carriers per annum
Automobile hub and global player

Bremerhaven is one of the largest automobile hubs anywhere in the world.

Read more

bremenports Autoterminal
2,1 Mio. umgeschlagene Autos

Bremerhaven Autoterminal der Spitzenklasse

Mit mehr als 2 Millionen umgeschlagenen Fahrzeugen im Jahr haben sich die bremischen Häfen als eine der größten Automobil-Drehscheiben der Welt etabliert. Dafür stellt Bremerhaven mit den Kaiserhäfen sowie dem Nord- und dem Osthafen leistungsfähige Hafenanlagen und direkt angrenzend gigantische Flächen zur Verfügung: Auf 2,4 Millionen Quadratmetern Gesamtfläche stehen rund 95.000 Pkw-Stellplätze bereit, davon 50.000 überdacht.

Punktlandung: Logistik, Produktion, Service

Bremerhaven hat immense Bedeutung für die internationale Autoindustrie. Zahlreiche Spezialisten kümmern sich vor Ort um Transport und Umschlag der Neuwagen. Auch die Versorgung der Produktionsstätten mit Bauteilen und Komponenten wird sichergestellt. In den Technikzentren, der „größten Werkstatt Europas“, werden zudem jedes Jahr mehr als 230.000 Fahrzeuge kontrolliert, bearbeitet, umgerüstet oder veredelt.

Zukunftsweisend: Transshipment und High & Heavy

Bremerhaven ist ein wichtiger Transshipment-Hafen. Hier kommen zahlreiche Fahrzeuge auf dem Seeweg an und werden später mit Feederschiffen weitertransportiert. Dennoch dominiert der Export deutlich (Anteil: etwa 80 Prozent). Besondere Schwergewichte wie Bahnwaggons, Spezialmaschinen oder im Hafen vorgestaute Rolltrailer werden im Sektor „High & Heavy“ umgeschlagen.

Attraktiver Standort – wichtiger Arbeitgeber

Die Hafengruppe Bremen/Bremerhaven gehört zu den leistungsfähigsten Zentren der Logistik in Europa. Die Zwillingshäfen erfüllen lebenswichtige Aufgaben für die Wirtschafts- und Exportnation Deutschland. Außerdem haben sie große Bedeutung für den Arbeitsmarkt: Das Hafengeschäft sichert direkt und indirekt die Arbeitsplätze von mehr als 77.000 Menschen und damit etwa 20 Prozent aller Stellen im Land Bremen.

Faktencheck
  • Europas zweitgrößter Hafen für Automobilumschlag
  • Jahresleistung: 2,1 Millionen Fahrzeuge (2016), davon etwa 80 Prozent Export = etwa ein Drittel der deutschen Automobilproduktion
  • 18 Schiffsliegeplätze für Auto-Carrier (Kajenlänge: 3 Kilometer)
  • 1.400 Autoschiffsanläufe jährlich
Automobilscheibe mit Weltformat

Bremerhaven gehört zu den größten Automobildrehscheiben der Welt. Mehr als zwei Millionen Fahrzeuge werden hier in Spitzenjahren umgeschlagen.

Mehr erfahren