bremenports Containerterminal
5.5 million TEU Trade flows all over the world

Revolution in global world trade Bremerhaven Container-Terminal - hub for the global flow of goods

As the fourth-largest container hub in Europe, the terminal now has a total of 14 berths for mega container vessels. These ships are meanwhile up to 400 metres long and up to 60 metres wide and have a carrying capacity of around 20,000 standard containers (TEU).

After a total of six expansion phases, the impressive quay has grown to an overall length of almost five kilometres. More than 40 container cranes can each load or unload up to 40 containers per hour. In 2016, the terminal recorded a throughput of more than 5.5 million TEU.

Bremerhaven is one of the leading container hubs: like a sponge, the port absorbs freight from all over the world and simultaneously distributes vast quantities of goods to destinations throughout Europe and overseas. To handle the transport of European import and export consignments, the terminal uses a close-meshed network of efficient rail and road hinterland connections. The global port on the River Weser is also used by a large number of feeders, seagoing vessels which link Bremerhaven with numerous other European ports.

The Container

The success story of these steel crates began in February 1968. The storage and transport of different types of goods was greatly facilitated by the use of standardised large transport crates. Containers revolutionised shipping as well as the entire logistics industry, paving the way for globalisation.

The ports of Bremen were convinced of the potential of these innovative containers from the word go: in 1966, the very first container ever to be unloaded at a German port arrived at Bremen’s Überseehafen. The growing importance of containers radically changed maritime logistics, as suitable ports and transhipment terminals were needed to handle the increasingly large freight vessels. Bremer Lagerhaus-Gesellschaft, later to become BLG Logistics, was one of the pioneers and shifted the container business from Bremen to Bremerhaven, where the first berth at Stromkaje, the riverside quay at the Container Terminal, went into operation in 1971.

Attractive Location – important employer

The Bremen/Bremerhaven group of ports is one of the most efficient logistics centres in Europe. The twin ports fulfil vital tasks for Germany’s business and export activities. They also play a significant role for the labour market: the port business directly or indirectly safeguards the jobs of more than 77,000 people, equivalent to roughly 20 per cent of the total jobs in the Federal Land of Bremen.

Facts
  • Wilhelm Kaisen Container Terminal: quay length: 4930 metres
  • Operating area 2.9 million square metres
  • Water depth: 14 to 16.5 metres
  • Container cranes: 41
  • 2010: appeared in the Guinness Book of Records as the (then) largest coherent container terminal in the world
Revolution in global transport

The success story of Bremerhaven Container Terminal began in February 1968 when construction work began on a 700-metre long quay.

Read more

bremenports Containerterminal
5,5 Mio. TEU Handelsströme in die ganze Welt

Revolution im globalen Transport Container-Terminal Bremerhaven – Drehscheibe für weltweite Warenströme

Als viertgrößte Container-Drehscheibe Europas bietet der Terminal heute insgesamt 14 Liegeplätze für Großcontainerschiffe. Mit einer Länge von bis zu 400 Metern und einer Breite von bis zu 60 Metern können sie inzwischen etwa 20.000 Standardbehälter (TEU) an Bord nehmen.

Nach insgesamt sechs Ausbaustufen ist die eindrucksvolle Stromkaje mittlerweile auf eine Gesamtlänge von fast fünf Kilometern gewachsen. Hier können die mehr als 40 Containerbrücken jeweils bis zu 40 Boxen pro Stunde an oder von Bord heben. 2016 brachte es der Standort auf einen Umschlag von über 5,5 Millionen TEU.

Bremerhaven ist ein sogenannter Container-Hub: Wie ein Schwamm nimmt der Hafen Ladung aus aller Welt auf und verteilt Güter gleichzeitig in großem Umfang Richtung Übersee und Europa. Für den Transport der europäischen Im- und Exporte nutzt der Standort ein engmaschiges Netz leistungsfähiger Hinterlandverbindungen auf Schiene und Straße. Gleichzeitig wird der Welthafen an der Weser von vielen Feedern angelaufen – das sind Seeschiffe, die Bremerhaven mit zahlreichen Häfen in Europa verbinden.

Der Container

Im Februar 1968 trat eine Stahlbox ihren Siegeszug an. Die Lagerung und der Transport unterschiedlicher Güter wurden durch den Einsatz genormter Großbehälter enorm vereinfacht. Der Container revolutionierte die Schifffahrt und die gesamte Logistik – der Grundstein für die Globalisierung war gelegt.

Die bremischen Häfen haben von Anfang an auf die Container-Innovation gesetzt: 1966 wurde im Bremer Überseehafen die erste Box in einem deutschen Hafen gelöscht. Mit der wachsenden Bedeutung des Containers veränderte sich die maritime Logistik grundlegend. Immer größere Frachtschiffe benötigten entsprechende Häfen und Umschlagplätze. Die damalige Bremer Lagerhaus-Gesellschaft leistete Pionierarbeit und verlagerte das Geschäft mit den Transportbehältern von Bremen nach Bremerhaven, wo 1971 der erste Liegeplatz an der Stromkaje des Container-Terminals in Betrieb genommen wurde.

Attraktiver Standort – Wichtiger Arbeitgeber

Die Hafengruppe Bremen/Bremerhaven gehört zu den leistungsfähigsten Zentren der Logistik in Europa. Die Zwillingshäfen erfüllen lebenswichtige Aufgaben für die Wirtschafts- und Exportnation Deutschland. Außerdem haben sie große Bedeutung für den Arbeitsmarkt: Das Hafengeschäft sichert direkt und indirekt die Arbeitsplätze von mehr als 77.000 Menschen und damit etwa 20 Prozent aller Stellen im Land Bremen.

Faktencheck
  • Kaje: bremisch für Kaianlage
  • Container-Terminal „Wilhelm Kaisen“
  • Länge der Stromkaje: 4.930 Meter
  • Terminalfläche: 2,9 Millionen Quadratmeter
  • Wassertiefe: 14 bis 16,5 Meter
  • Containerbrücken: 41
  • 2010: Eintrag im Guinness-Buch der Rekorde als damals größter zusammenhängender Container-Terminal der Welt
Revolution im globalen Transport

Im Februar 1968 begann die Erfolgsgeschichte des Container-Terminals in Bremerhaven. Seitdem ist die eindrucksvolle Hafenanlage im Zuge von vier Ausbaumaßnahmen zur längsten zusammenhängenden Stromkaje der Welt geworden.

mehr erfahren