Take me away, captain... The Bremerhaven cruise terminal

The Bremerhaven cruise terminal Traveling around the world

Columbus Cruise Center Bremerhaven (CCCB) is one of the most modern passenger terminals in the world. Located at Columbuskaje, the terminal was refurbished in 2003 and the investments in modern handling facilities for cruise liners and tourists have proved well worthwhile, as this sector appears set for continuous growth. In 2016, the statistics reported a passenger figure of 96,500. As the location has attracted new customers and cruise liners continue to grow, the number of passengers could double within just a few years.

The principal destinations served from Bremerhaven are ports in Northern Europe (Scandinavia) and the Baltic, but the list also includes ports in the UK, Iceland and Greenland.

Four vessels can be handles simultaneously if necessary

Up to four cruise liners can be handled simultaneously at the roughly 1000-metre long quay – in compliance with strict safety and quality standards. The infrastructure is designed to cope with vessels of all sizes. The terminal has spacious check-in and waiting areas that can accommodate around 4000 passengers, modern equipment for transporting and loading their baggage, and covered passenger walkways. All of these amenities make the CCCB an attractive maritime competence centre for passengers, cruise shipping lines, tour operators and ship agents.

Traditional port of emigration for centuries

Ever since it was founded in 1827, Bremerhaven has traditionally been an important seaport on the German North Sea coast. The vast numbers of people emigrating to America led to an enormous upswing in the city’s development as a maritime location. Since the 19th century, more than eight million people have departed from here, hoping for a better life in the New World. The shipping companies soon realised that transatlantic traffic was an attractive business option. The inauguration of Columbuskaje in 1927 (where GI Elvis Presley was to set foot on German soil decades later) further enhanced Bremerhaven’s reputation as a port for passengers travelling to and from America.

During the 1960s, however, the heyday of conventional Atlantic passenger shipping gradually ebbed as transatlantic flights became more and more affordable. Life at the terminal is now dominated by cruise liners, a business segment which becomes more and more interesting for the port on the mouth of the Weser with every year that passes.

Maritime tourism – Museums, zoo and ships

The German Emigration Centre, the German Shipping Museum, the climate museum ‘Klimahaus 8° Ost’, Zoo am Meer, the Museum of History and Schaufenster Fischereihafen at the former fishing port are just some of the attractions that fascinate hundreds of thousands of visitors to Bremerhaven every year. In addition to holidaymakers and day trippers from other parts of Germany, cruise ship passengers are increasingly interested in sightseeing around the seaport and use their short stay here to visit some of these places of interest. What’s more, the huge cruise liners and the hustle and bustle on the quayside are in themselves interesting enough to pull in the crowds. Bremerhaven’s passenger terminal makes an important contribution to the city’s growing attractiveness as a tourist Destination.

Attractive Location – important employer

The Bremen/Bremerhaven group of ports is one of the most efficient logistics centres in Europe. The twin ports fulfil vital tasks for Germany’s business and export activities. They also play a significant role for the labour market: the port business directly or indirectly safeguards the jobs of more than 77,000 people, equivalent to roughly 20 per cent of the total jobs in the Federal Land of Bremen.

Facts
  • 2016: 68 cruise liner calls
  • 2016: 96.500 passengers
  • The most frequent callers are the MS Astor, MS Astoria, TS Maxim Gorki and MS Albatros
  • The check-in and waiting areas at the modern terminal can accommodate around 4.000 passengers
Timetable Bremerhaven

Would you like to know which cruise ships arrive and leave in Bremerhaven? Then visit the website of the Columbus Cruise Center in Bremerhaven.

Read more

Nimm’ mich mit, Kapitän... Der Kreuzfahrt-Terminal Bremerhaven

Der Kreuzfahrt-Terminal Bremerhaven Reisen in die ganze Welt

Das Columbus Cruise Center Bremerhaven (CCCB) zählt zu den weltweit modernsten Passagier-Terminals. Die Anlagen an der Columbuskaje wurden im Jahre 2003 eingeweiht. Die Investition in eine zeitgemäße Abfertigung von Kreuzfahrtschiffen und -touristen hat sich gelohnt – denn die Zeichen stehen auf Wachstum. 2016 zählten die Statistiker bereits 96.500 Passagiere. Weil der Standort neue Kunden gewonnen hat und immer größere Kreuzfahrtschiffe eingesetzt werden, könnte sich die Zahl der Reisenden in wenigen Jahren verdoppeln.

Bei den Destinationen, die von Bremerhaven aus bevorzugt angelaufen werden, dominieren Häfen in Nordeuropa (Skandinavien) und in der Ostsee. Auch England, Island und Grönland stehen auf der Liste.

Bei Bedarf werden vier Schiffe gleichzeitig abgefertigt

An der insgesamt etwa 1.000 Meter langen Kaje können bis zu vier Kreuzfahrtschiffe gleichzeitig abgefertigt werden – und zwar unter Einhaltung höchster Sicherheits- und Qualitätsstandards. Die Infrastruktur ist auf Schiffe aller Größen ausgerichtet. Der Terminal bietet großzügige Check-in- und Wartebereiche für rund 4.000 Passagiere, ein modernes Equipment für den Transport und die Verladung des Gepäcks sowie witterungsunabhängige Passagierbrücken. Das alles macht das CCCB zu einem attraktiven maritimen Kompetenzzentrum für Passagiere, Kreuzfahrtreedereien, Reiseveranstalter und Schiffsagenten.

Auswandererhafen mit jahrhundertelanger Tradition

Bremerhaven ist seit seiner Gründung im Jahre 1827 traditionell ein wichtiger Hafen an der deutschen Nordseeküste. Die Auswanderung nach Amerika hat die maritime Entwicklung der Seestadt enorm beflügelt. Über acht Millionen Menschen nutzten den Hafen seit dem 19. Jahrhundert als Sprungbrett in die Neue Welt. Die Reeder entdeckten im Transatlantikverkehr ein attraktives Geschäftsfeld. Mit der Eröffnung der traditionsreichen Columbuskaje im Jahre 1927 (dort betrat Jahrzehnte später auch der US-Soldat Elvis Presley deutschen Boden) verbesserte der Standort seine Position im Passagierverkehr von und nach Amerika weiter.

In den 60-er Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts gingen die großen Jahre der klassischen Atlantik-Passagierfahrt allerdings zu Ende. Sie musste dem aufkommenden Luftverkehr weichen. Heute bestimmen hier die Kreuzfahrtschiffe das Bild – ein Geschäftsfeld, das für den Hafen an der Wesermündung von Jahr zu Jahr interessanter wird.

Maritimer Tourismus – Museen, Zoo und Schiffe locken

Deutsches Auswandererhaus, Deutsches Schifffahrtsmuseum, Klimahaus 8° Ost, Zoo am Meer, Historisches Museum,  Schaufenster Fischereihafen – das sind einige der Attraktionen, die in Bremerhaven jedes Jahr Hunderttausende faszinieren. Neben Urlaubern und Tagesgästen aus dem Binnenland interessieren sich zunehmend auch Kreuzfahrtpassagiere für das Sightseeing-Angebot der Hafenstadt und nutzen ihre Stippvisite für einen Besuch dieser Attraktionen. Gleichzeitig werden die Kreuzfahrtschiffe und das rege Treiben an der Kaje selbst zu Publikumsmagneten. Bremerhavens Passagier-Terminal leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag zur wachsenden touristischen Attraktivität Bremerhavens.

Attraktiver Standort – Wichtiger Arbeitgeber

Die Hafengruppe Bremen/Bremerhaven gehört zu den leistungsfähigsten Zentren der Logistik in Europa. Die Zwillingshäfen erfüllen lebenswichtige Aufgaben für die Wirtschafts- und Exportnation Deutschland. Außerdem haben sie große Bedeutung für den Arbeitsmarkt: Das Hafengeschäft sichert direkt und indirekt die Arbeitsplätze von mehr als 77.000 Menschen und damit etwa 20 Prozent aller Stellen im Land Bremen.

Faktencheck
  • 2016: 68 Ankünfte von Kreuzfahrtschiffen
  • 2016: 96.500 Passagiere
  • Der Check-in- und Wartebereich des modernen Terminals bietet Platz für etwa 4.000 Passagiere
Fahrplan im CCCB

Sie möchten wissen, welche Kreuzfahrtschiffe in Bremerhaven ankommen und wieder abfahren? Dann besuchen Sie hier die Seite des Columbus Cruise Centers in Bremerhaven.

mehr erfahren