bremenports Kuehlgut
Professional handling of sensitive freight Refrigerated goods

Bremerhaven Hub for frozen goods

Fruit and vegetables, fish and poultry, beef and convenience products – Bremerhaven is one of the most important European ports for handling temperature-controlled food, whether chilled or frozen. Like many other countries in Europe, Germany is highly dependent on imports for its fruit and vegetables and for the supply of fish and seafood. The frozen cargoes arrive in containers from Asia, the USA, Latin America, New Zealand, Russia and Africa and refer primarily to raw materials for the food industry and finished products for the retail trade.

Europe’s cold store – ice-cold Expertise

With a commercial volume of around 650,000 cubic metres of frozen goods, Bremerhaven is regarded as the largest cold store in Europe. Located in the immediate vicinity of the Fruit and Container Terminal, the BLG Coldstore, part of the BLG Logistics Group, has a current storage capacity of almost 30,000 pallets of chilled and frozen goods. From handling right through to storage and distribution, the BLG Coldstore offers a full range of services for the import and export of chilled and frozen products.

Fruit terminals – experts for refrigeration and ripening

With two Fruit Terminals at Kaiserhafen and Columbuskaje, Bremerhaven is involved in the distribution of fresh fruit and vegetables to destinations throughout Germany and other European countries. The product variety ranges from new potatoes from Egypt to apples and pears from South Africa. In 2016, 270,000 tons of fruit, including large quantities of bananas from South and Central America, were imported from overseas via Bremerhaven. Constant temperature control throughout the entire transport and storage is essential to ensure that the fruit reaches the shops in the condition demanded by the customers. Bananas, for example, are picked while still green and undergo a precisely planned ripening process on their way to the shops.

Attractive Location – important employer

The Bremen/Bremerhaven group of ports is one of the most efficient logistics centres in Europe. The twin ports fulfil vital tasks for Germany’s business and export activities. They also play a significant role for the labour market: the port business directly or indirectly safeguards the jobs of more than 77,000 people, equivalent to roughly 20 per cent of the total jobs in the Federal Land of Bremen.

Facts
  • The Fischereihafen in Bremerhaven currently employs around 3500 people in the fish and food industries and the suppliers and service providers for these industries.
  • The first 50,000 bunches of bananas were discharged in Bremerhaven on 3 July 1925.
Bremerhaven

You want to get more information about the ports in Bremerhaven?

Read more

bremenports Kuehlgut
Sensible Waren fachgerecht umschlagen Temperaturgeführte Lebensmittel

Temperaturgeführte Lebensmittel

Obst und Gemüse, Fisch und Geflügel, Rindfleisch und Fertigwaren – Bremerhaven ist europaweit einer der wichtigsten Häfen für temperaturgeführte Lebensmittel. Das gilt gleichermaßen für den Kühl- und den Tiefkühlbereich. Wie viele andere europäische Länder ist Deutschland besonders im Obst- und Gemüsebereich sowie bei der Versorgung mit Fisch und Seafood stark vom Import abhängig. Die tiefgekühlte Fracht kommt per Container aus Asien, den USA, aus Lateinamerika, Neuseeland, Russland und Afrika. Dabei handelt es sich hauptsächlich um Rohware für die Lebensmittelindustrie sowie um Fertigprodukte für den Einzelhandel.

Europas Kühlhaus – Eiskalte Kompetenz

Mit einem gewerblichen Tiefkühlvolumen von etwa 650.000 Kubikmetern gilt Bremerhaven als größtes „Kühlhaus“ Europas. In unmittelbarer Nähe zu Frucht- und Container-Terminal verfügt das Kühlhaus der BLG Logistics Group, der BLG Coldstore, über eine Lagerkapazität von aktuell fast 30.000 Paletten für Kühl- und Tiefkühlware. Von der Abfertigung über die Lagerung bis zur Distribution bietet der Coldstore den kompletten Service rund um den Im- und Export gekühlter und tiefgekühlter Produkte.

Frucht-Terminals – Experten für Kühlung und Reifung

Mit zwei Frucht-Terminals im Kaiserhafen und an der Columbuskaje ist Bremerhaven an der deutschland- und europaweiten Verteilung von frischem Obst und Gemüse beteiligt. Das Spektrum reicht von ägyptischen Frühkartoffeln bis zu Kernobst aus Südafrika. 2016 wurden 270.000 Tonnen Früchte aus Übersee über die Seestadt importiert, zum Beispiel größere Mengen Bananen aus Süd- und Mittelamerika. Damit die Früchte so angeboten werden, wie es der Kunde wünscht, ist eine konstante Temperaturführung bei Transport und Lagerung erforderlich. Grün gepflückt unterliegt die Banane unterwegs einem präzise geplanten Reifungsprozess.

Attraktiver Standort – Wichtiger Arbeitgeber

Die Hafengruppe Bremen/Bremerhaven gehört zu den leistungsfähigsten Zentren der Logistik in Europa. Die Zwillingshäfen erfüllen lebenswichtige Aufgaben für die Wirtschafts- und Exportnation Deutschland. Außerdem haben sie große Bedeutung für den Arbeitsmarkt: Das Hafengeschäft sichert direkt und indirekt die Arbeitsplätze von mehr als 77.000 Menschen und damit etwa 20 Prozent aller Stellen im Land Bremen.

Faktencheck
  • Aktuell sind etwa 3.500 Beschäftigte im Bremerhavener Fischereihafen in der Fisch- und Lebensmittelwirtschaft oder bei ihren Zulieferern und Dienstleistern tätig.
  • Am 3. Juli 1925 wurden in Bremerhaven erstmals 50.000 Bananenstauden gelöscht.
Bremerhaven

Sie möchten weitere Informationen über die Häfen in Bremerhaven erhalten?

mehr erfahren