bremenports Massengut
The bulk of our business Bulk cargo handling

The ports in Bremen-City Specialists for bulk cargoes

The ports in the city of Bremen tranship, store and process a wide range of bulk cargoes. Bulk cargo refers to goods which are transported in large quantities without packaging. This can be either liquid bulk (such as refined petroleum products) or dry bulk cargoes (such as ores, coal, grain and feedstuffs).

Various terminals which specialise in bulk cargoes as well as extensive storage areas are available at several port sites in the city of Bremen. From conveyor belts, grabs, cranes, bunker hopper gantry cranes to special discharge terminals – diverse specialist facilities, modern equipment, expertise and professional handling are the strengths of this location.

Industriehafen – coal and Petroleum transhipment centre

Alongside the Holz- und Fabrikenhafen, which is the main centre for handling grain, feedstuffs, coffee and fish meal, Bremen’s Industriehafen is a classic transhipment location for bulk goods. Every year, more than 600 seagoing vessels call at the port behind the lock in Oslebshausen. The facilities on the right bank of the Weser handle iron ore, coal, building materials and refined petroleum products, with scrap and waste materials completing the portfolio.

Bremen-City profits from growth in bulk cargos

Bulk cargo accounts for one seventh of total cargo throughput. This high figure shows that Bremen’s ports cannot be reduced merely to the role of a container and automobile logistics location. In 2016, the terminals handled 10.1 million tons of bulk cargo. The medium-sized enterprises that specialise in this business enjoy an international reputation – and this, in turn, benefits Bremen as a port location.

Attractive Location – important employer

The Bremen/Bremerhaven group of ports is one of the most efficient logistics centres in Europe. The twin ports fulfil vital tasks for Germany’s business and export activities. They also play a significant role for the labour market: the port business directly or indirectly safeguards the jobs of more than 77,000 people, equivalent to roughly 20 per cent of the total jobs in the Federal Land of Bremen.

Bulk cargo

Bremen’s city ports are specialists. Learn more about the ports of Bremen.

Read more

bremenports Massengut
Die Masse macht’s Umschlag von Massengütern

Ein Spezialist für Massengut Die stadtbremischen Häfen

In den bremischen Häfen wird ein breites Spektrum an Massengut umgeschlagen, gelagert und weiterverarbeitet. Als Massengut bezeichnet man Güter, die in großen Mengen ohne Verpackung transportiert werden. Man unterscheidet flüssige (zum Beispiel Mineralölprodukte) und feste Massengutladungen (darunter Erze, Kohle, Getreide und Futtermittel).

Verschiedene auf Massengut spezialisierte Terminals sowie ausgedehnte Lagerflächen verteilen sich in Bremen-Stadt auf mehrere Hafenareale. Förderbänder, Greifer, Kräne, Bunkerbrücken und Schiffsentlader – diverse Spezialanlagen, modernes Equipment, Know-how und professionelles Handling zeichnen den Standort aus.

Industriehafen – Zentrum des Kohle- und Mineralölumschlags

Neben dem Holz- und Fabrikenhafen, dem Hauptumschlagplatz für Getreide, Futtermittel, Kaffee und Fischmehl, überzeugt der Bremer Industriehafen als klassischer Umschlagplatz für Massengüter. Mehr als 600 Überseeschiffe laufen das Hafenareal hinter der Oslebshauser Schleuse jährlich an. Umgeschlagen werden rechts der Weser Eisenerze, Kohle, Baustoffe und Mineralölprodukte. Schrott und Abfallstoffe runden das Profil ab.

Wachstum beim Massengut belebt Standort Bremen-Stadt

Das Massengut ist zu einem Siebtel am Gesamtumschlag beteiligt. Der hohe Wert zeigt, dass sich die bremischen Häfen nicht auf die Container- und Autologistik reduzieren lassen. 2016 schlugen die Terminals 10,1 Millionen Tonnen Massengut um. Die mittelständischen Unternehmen, die sich auf dieses Geschäft spezialisiert haben, verfügen über internationale Reputation – und der Standort profitiert davon.

Attraktiver Standort – Wichtiger Arbeitgeber

Die Hafengruppe Bremen/Bremerhaven gehört zu den leistungsfähigsten Zentren der Logistik in Europa. Die Zwillingshäfen erfüllen lebenswichtige Aufgaben für die Wirtschafts- und Exportnation Deutschland. Außerdem haben sie große Bedeutung für den Arbeitsmarkt: Das Hafengeschäft sichert direkt und indirekt die Arbeitsplätze von mehr als 77.000 Menschen und damit etwa 20 Prozent aller Stellen im Land Bremen.

Massenstückgüter

Die stadtbremischen Häfen sind Spezialisten im Bereich des konventionellen Umschlags. Erfahren Sie hier mehr über die ansässigen Terminals.

mehr erfahren