bremenports offshore Terminals
Power generation on the high seas Offshore wind energy

Offshore-Terminal Bremerhaven Pioneer of offshore wind energy

Countless business enterprises and service providers in the wind industry and logistics sector have set up business in the Federal Land of Bremen, creating a cluster of expertise that covers the entire supply chain. And because the promotion of offshore wind energy on the North Sea and Baltic plays a central role in achieving Germany’s changeover to green power, Bremen’s Senate is banking on increasing demand in this area. Bremen’s government has therefore planned the construction of the Offshore Terminal Bremerhaven (OTB) to consolidate and improve Bremen’s position as a port and industrial location in this comparatively new market. However, it is not yet clear when construction of the OTB can begin, as a legal dispute has temporarily called a halt to the project.

The Federal Land and the port on the estuary have high hopes of the OTB, which will involve a 25-hectare loading zone for wind turbines on the banks of the Weser in the south of Bremerhaven. The port facility will be used for pre-assembly and transhipment of the turbines. The 500-metre long quay will have sufficient space for two to three offshore jack-up vessels.

Highly diverse Business and research cluster

Bremerhaven already offers good location conditions and expansion options for the offshore wind energy: around 200 hectares of industrial sites are available for new business and expansions in the southern part of Fischereihafen. The planned offshore terminal will further enhance the port’s distinctive profile. Bremerhaven scores top marks for its capacity to handle ocean-going vessels, its efficient maritime infrastructure and its highly diverse business and research Cluster.

Science and industry – a strong network

Research, development, production, service and maintenance – both commercial businesses and research institutes in the wind energy sector have created a strong network on the banks of the Weser: well-known production companies, diverse suppliers and service providers join forces with excellent scientific infrastructure (Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy System Technology IWES, Wind Tunnel Centre, Institute of Wind Energy). This combination is unmatched anywhere in Europe.

Attractive Location – important employer

The Bremen/Bremerhaven group of ports is one of the most efficient logistics centres in Europe. The twin ports fulfil vital tasks for Germany’s business and export activities. They also play a significant role for the labour market: the port business directly or indirectly safeguards the jobs of more than 77,000 people, equivalent to roughly 20 per cent of the total jobs in the Federal Land of Bremen.

Facts
  • Up to 160 wind turbines per annum can be pre-assembled, stored and transhipped at the 25-hectare large terminal. The new Offshore Terminal in the south of Bremerhaven will have 2 to 3 berths and a terminal depth of 498 metres.
Bremerhaven

You want to get more information about the ports in Bremerhaven?

Read more

bremenports offshore Terminals
Stromerzeugung auf hoher See Offshore-Windenergie

Offshore-Terminal Bremerhaven Vorreiter für die Offshore-Windenergie

Im Land Bremen haben sich zahlreiche Unternehmen und Dienstleister aus Windindustrie und -logistik angesiedelt – ein Kompetenzzentrum, das die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette umfasst. Weil der Ausbau der Offshore-Windenergie auf Nord- und Ostsee eine zentrale Rolle bei der Umsetzung der Energiewende spielt, setzt der Bremer Senat auf eine steigende Nachfrage in diesem Bereich. Mit dem geplanten Offshore-Terminal Bremerhaven (OTB) will die Landesregierung die Position des Hafen- und Industriestandorts im jungen Markt stärken und ausbauen. Wann mit dem Bau des OTB begonnen werden kann, steht allerdings noch nicht fest – das Bauvorhaben wird derzeit durch einen Rechtsstreit blockiert.

Land und Seestadt setzen große Hoffnungen in den OTB. Am Weserufer im Süden von Bremerhaven soll eine 25 Hektar große Verladezone für Windenergieanlagen entstehen – eine Hafenanlage, die dazu dienen wird, die Anlagen vorzumontieren und umzuschlagen. Die 500 Meter lange Kaje wird Platz für zwei bis drei Offshore-Errichterschiffe bieten.

Breitgefächertes Firmen- und Forschungscluster

Schon heute findet die Offshore-Branche in Bremerhaven gute Ansiedlungs- und Expansionsmöglichkeiten vor: Im südlichen Fischereihafen stehen etwa 200 Hektar Gewerbeflächen für neue Betriebe und Erweiterungen zur Verfügung. Der geplante Offshore-Hafen wird das Profil des Standorts weiter schärfen. Bremerhaven punktet mit der Nähe zum seeschifftiefen Wasser, einer leistungsfähigen maritimen Infrastruktur und einem breitgefächerten Firmen- und Forschungs-Cluster.

Wissenschaft und Industrie – Ein starkes Netzwerk

Forschung, Entwicklung, Produktion, Service und Wartung – Unternehmen und Institute der Windenergie-Branche bilden an der Weser ein starkes Netzwerk. Bekannte Produzenten, diverse Zulieferer und Dienstleister verbinden sich mit einer exzellenten wissenschaftlichen Infrastruktur (Fraunhofer-Institut für Windenergie und Energiesystemtechnik IWES, Windkanalzentrum, Institut für Windenergie). Diese Kombination ist in Europa einmalig.

Attraktiver Standort – Wichtiger Arbeitgeber

Die Hafengruppe Bremen/Bremerhaven gehört zu den leistungsfähigsten Zentren der Logistik in Europa. Die Zwillingshäfen erfüllen lebenswichtige Aufgaben für die Wirtschafts- und Exportnation Deutschland. Außerdem haben sie große Bedeutung für den Arbeitsmarkt: Das Hafengeschäft sichert direkt und indirekt die Arbeitsplätze von mehr als 77.000 Menschen und damit etwa 20 Prozent aller Stellen im Land Bremen.

Faktencheck
  • Auf dem 25 ha großen Terminal können jährlich bis zu 160 Windenergieanlagen vormontiert, gelagert und umgeschlagen werden. Das neue Offshore-Terminal im Süden Bremerhavens wird über 2 bis 3 Liegeplätze verfügen. Die Terminaltiefe wird 498 m betragen.
Bremerhaven

Sie möchten weitere Informationen über die Häfen in Bremerhaven erhalten?

mehr erfahren