bremenports roll on roll off
Rolling on board Ro-ro cargo

Bremerhaven Ro-ro terminal Transhipment centre for rolling cargo

From cranes, trucks and tractors to agricultural and construction machinery, the high-performance ro-ro terminal in Bremerhaven offers countless services for the handling and intermediate storage of rolling or self-propelled goods. Roll-on/roll-off – or ro-ro – refers to the loading of movable cargo which is then carried across the seven seas on special-purpose vessels. The transport of goods on ro-ro vessels plays an increasingly central role in the maritime shipping business and Bremerhaven is one of the leading transhipment centres in Europe for rolling cargo, handling an annual ocean freight quantity of approx. 1.2 million tons.

Safe and fast transhipment of even the heaviest parts

The location on the mouth of the Weser is one of the leading transhipment terminals for global ro-ro transports. The multifunctional handling facilities can offer premium conditions for the professional handling of even the largest specialist ro-ro vessels: an extensive operating area of approx. 340,000 square metres, modern equipment for the safe and fast transhipment of exceptionally heavy parts weighing up to 21,000 tons, state-of-the-art IT and good traffic connections to the European hinterland.

High & Heavy – terminal for Special heavyweights

Self-propelled heavy-lift cargoes require special handling: high-powered tractor units, strict compliance with specific load securing regulations and skilled workers who have been specially trained by the manufacturer all ensure that the terminal satisfies the stringent quality and safety standards in the high & heavy sector.

Attractive Location – important employer

The Bremen/Bremerhaven group of ports is one of the most efficient logistics centres in Europe. The twin ports fulfil vital tasks for Germany’s business and export activities. They also play a significant role for the labour market: the port business directly or indirectly safeguards the jobs of more than 77,000 people, equivalent to roughly 20 per cent of the total jobs in the Federal Land of Bremen.

Facts
  • Terminal with shifting approximately 1.2 million tons in this area
  • Central MAFI packing station for the largest ro-ro shipowners in the world
  • 340,000 m² (20,000 m² of which is covered) close to the quayside with state-of-the-art handling equipment
Bremerhaven

You want to get more information about the ports in Bremerhaven?

Read more

bremenports roll on roll off
Auf eigener Achse an Bord Ro/Ro-Umschlag

Ro/Ro-Terminal Bremerhaven Umschlagsplatz für rollende Güter

Ob Kräne, Lastwagen, Traktoren, Land- oder Baumaschinen – der leistungsfähige RoRo-Terminal in Bremerhaven bietet zahlreiche Dienstleistungen für den Umschlag und die Zwischenlagerung von rollfähigen oder selbst fahrenden Gütern. Das sogenannte RoRo-Verfahren (englisch: „Roll-on/Roll-off“) beschreibt die Verladung beweglicher Güter, die anschließend von Spezialschiffen über die Weltmeere transportiert werden. Der Warentransport mit RoRo-Schiffen spielt im Seeverkehr eine zunehmend wichtige Rolle. Bremerhaven zählt zu Europas führenden Umschlagzentren für rollende Ladung und bringt es in diesem Bereich auf eine Seegütermenge von jährlich etwa 1,2 Millionen Tonnen.

Sicherer und schneller Umschlag schwerster Teile

Der Standort an der Wesermündung ist einer der wichtigsten Transshipment-Häfen für weltweite RoRo-Transporte. Die multifunktionale Umschlaganlage bietet auch größten RoRo-Spezialschiffen beste Bedingungen für eine professionelle Abfertigung – etwa 340.000 Quadratmeter weitläufige Terminalfläche, ein modernes Equipment für einen sicheren und schnellen Umschlag schwerster Teile von bis zu 21.000 Tonnen Gewicht, zeitgemäße IT-Technik und gute Verkehrsanbindungen an das europäische Hinterland.

High & Heavy – Terminal für besondere Schwergewichte

Selbstfahrende Schwergutladungen verlangen eine besondere Handhabung: Leistungsstarke Zugmaschinen, die konsequente Einhaltung zusätzlicher Vorgaben bei der Ladungssicherung und ein speziell durch die Hersteller geschultes Fachpersonal sorgen dafür, dass der Terminal den hohen Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsstandards im Bereich High & Heavy gerecht wird.

Attraktiver Standort – Wichtiger Arbeitgeber

Die Hafengruppe Bremen/Bremerhaven gehört zu den leistungsfähigsten Zentren der Logistik in Europa. Die Zwillingshäfen erfüllen lebenswichtige Aufgaben für die Wirtschafts- und Exportnation Deutschland. Außerdem haben sie große Bedeutung für den Arbeitsmarkt: Das Hafengeschäft sichert direkt und indirekt die Arbeitsplätze von mehr als 77.000 Menschen und damit etwa 20 Prozent aller Stellen im Land Bremen.

Faktencheck
  • Terminal mit einer Bewegung von rund 1,2 Millionen Tonnen in diesem Bereich
  • Zentrale Mafi-Packstation für die größten Ro/Ro-Reeder der Welt
  • 340.000 m² (davon 20.000 m² überdacht) große High & Heavy-Fläche mit modernsten Umschlaggeräten am AutoTerminal
Bremerhaven

Sie möchten weitere Informationen über die Häfen in Bremerhaven erhalten?

mehr erfahren