x
Continuous development of the ports of Bremen

Port development Growing with the task

What are the trends for cargo handling and maritime logistics? Are the customers’ expectations of the world port of Bremen/Bremerhaven changing? What investments have to be made in port infrastructure to ensure the ports’ long-term competitiveness? These are the key questions facing the port planning and development engineers at bremenports. They analyse structures, keep a close eye on the market, observe developments at other port locations, identify the need for action, discuss solutions and make specific recommendations to political bodies, for instance in the form of port development concepts (master plans).

The objective of these activities is to strengthen the ports of Bremen and Bremerhaven on a sustainable basis: to improve their competitive position, increase their importance for the regional economy and for Germany as an export nation, and to respond proactively to the structural changes in the port-related logistics industry.

greenports

Climate change is a global challenge. The careful use of scarce resources is essential not only from the ecological, but also from the economic viewpoint. Bremen and Bremerhaven have set out on the long path to become a “green port”, and bremenports plays an important role in this process, from ambitious nature compensation for port construction projects right through to the establishment of a green company fleet.

Effects on employment

The ports in Bremen and Bremerhaven are a defining element of the regional economic structure. Deciding political priorities and securing public investments in maritime infrastructure have to be based on reliable information about the effects of the ports on the regional economy. bremenports first commissioned the Institute of Shipping Economics and Logistics (ISL) with a study of the effects of Bremen’s ports on the labour market in 2011. The study was repeated in 2017 and the results once again speak for themselves: in 2015, roughly one fifth of the total number of jobs (more than 77,000 people), of revenues and value added in the Federal Land of Bremen were directly or indirectly dependent on the ports – more than in any other Federal Land in Germany.

Stetige Entwicklung der bremischen Häfen

Hafenentwicklung Mit den Anforderungen wachsen

Wie entwickeln sich Umschlag und maritime Logistik? Gibt es veränderte Erwartungen der Kunden an den Welthafen Bremen/Bremerhaven? Und welche Investitionen in die Hafen-Infrastruktur sind notwendig, um die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit langfristig zu sichern? Dies sind Fragen, mit denen sich unsere Hafenplaner und –entwickler bei bremenports intensiv beschäftigen. Sie analysieren Strukturen, beobachten den Markt und das Geschehen an anderen Standorten, ermitteln Handlungsbedarf, diskutieren Lösungen und geben der Politik konkrete Empfehlungen, etwa in Form von Hafenentwicklungskonzepten (Masterpläne).

Denn das Ziel ist es, die bremischen Häfen dauerhaft zu stärken. Ihre Position im Wettbewerb soll ausgebaut, ihre Bedeutung für die regionale Wirtschaft und die Exportnation Deutschland erhöht und der strukturelle Wandel in der hafennahen Logistikwirtschaft offensiv begleitet werden.

„greenports“

Der Klimawandel ist eine globale Herausforderung und der überlegte Umgang mit knappen Ressourcen nicht nur ökologisch, sondern auch wirtschaftlich sinnvoll. Bremen und Bremerhaven haben den langen Weg zum „grünen Häfen“ eingeschlagen. Und bremenports treibt diesen Prozess voran – vom ambitionierten Naturausgleich für Hafenbauprojekte bis zum Aufbau eines „sauberen“ Fuhrparks.

Beschäftigungseffekte

Die Häfen in Bremen und Bremerhaven prägen die Wirtschaftsstruktur der Region. Zur Begründung politischer Prioritäten sowie zur Sicherung öffentlicher Investitionen in die maritime Infrastruktur, braucht es verlässliche Informationen über die regionalwirtschaftlichen Effekte der Häfen. Nachdem bremenports im Jahr 2011 das Institut für Seeverkehrswirtschaft und Logistik (ISL) mit der Untersuchung der Beschäftigungswirkungen der bremischen Häfen beauftragt hat, wurde diese 2017 wiederholt. Und die Ergebnisse sprechen wieder für sich: Im Land Bremen waren 2015 rd. 1/5 der Beschäftigung (mehr als 77.000 Personen), des Umsatzes und der Wertschöpfung direkt oder indirekt hafenabhängig – so viel wie in keinem anderen Bundesland.

Beschäftigungseffekte der Bremischen Häfen

Ermittlung der Beschäftigungseffekte der Bremischen Häfen und ihrer Entwicklung seit der letzten empirischen Erhebung 1998, Vergleich mit den Untersuchungsergebnissen zu den Nachbarhäfen und Zusammenfassung der Effekte aller Seehäfen im nordwestdeutschen Raum.

Download Pdf