x
Prevention against storm tides 12 km of dykes protect the population

Flood protection Protecting the population – flood protection projects at bremenports

We keep 22 kilometres of dykes and flood barriers in good working order and also look after the greenery. But that is not all we do: we are also responsible when the dykes have to be raised and fortified.

To give you an idea of the excellent work done by our experts, we have compiled a list of the current flood protection projects with brief explanations:

Construction projects at the northern and southern sea dyke in Bremerhaven:

The sea dyke in the south of Bremerhaven, to the west of Fischereihafen, runs from the double lock at Fischereihafen in the north to the former boundary to Lower Saxony in the south. The first construction phase of Offshore Terminal Bremerhaven (OTB) in autumn 2016 involves relocating part of this sea dyke. This means constructing a roughly 460-metre long section in the southern part of the sea dyke. The new dyke has to have a larger cross-section than the original structure: the outer part slopes at a lower angle, taking it approx. 12 metres closer to the River Weser. This construction phase is scheduled for completion at the end of 2017.
The northern part of the sea dyke will also be refurbished in spring 2017. During the next construction phase, the outer part of this section will also be given a gentler slope along a length of approx. 950 metres, again taking it closer to the river.

Marine debris storage and removal on the Luneplate:

To protect the hinterland, Luneplate has a dyke with a total length of 5780 metres. To keep these areas in good condition, the existing infrastructure has to be upgraded. One of the measures involves improving and extending the path for removing marine debris from the Luneplate. This measure is of central importance for coastal protection and was already included in the list of measures for implementing the Master Plan for Coastal Protection. On completion of the planning stage, a path for removing marine debris will be constructed between 2017 and 2018, with a length of approx. 760 metres in the southern area and approx. 1150 metres in the north of the Luneplate.
Correct disposal of marine debris is also crucial importance and accordingly, there are plans to construct a dedicated site for the storage and treatment of this debris on the inside of the Luneplate dyke. The construction of an approx. 25,000 m² surfaced site for the storage, treatment and composting of marine debris is scheduled to begin in 2017.
Compensation measures will have to be implemented for the construction of both the marine debris storage site and removal path. The substitute site for the debris storage site will be in the lower Lune area, whereas compensation for construction of the removal path will be at the Drepte lowlands.

Refurbishing flood protection at Columbusinsel in Bremerhaven:

Columbusinsel is situated between the Nordschleuse and Kaiserschleuse locks in the Überseehafen district of Bremerhaven. The dimensions of the present flood barriers on Columbusinsel do not satisfy the latest requirements, so that some parts have to be raised, while others have to be completely rebuilt. Structural designs have been drawn up to outline how the future flood protection on Columbusinsel is to be refurbished for the future. The application for planning permission was submitted in autumn 2016 and construction of this section of the flood barrier is scheduled to begin at the end of 2017.

Refurbishing flood protection at Nordschleuse lock in Bremerhaven:

Nordschleuse lock is situated between Columbusinsel and the Container Terminal in Bremerhaven’s Überseehafen district. The Master Plan for Coastal Protection specifies that the lock gates, the lock heads and the flood control line on both sides of the lock chamber are not high enough. These structures were therefore adjusted between 2014 and 2016 to comply with the requirements of the Master Plan for Coastal Protection. The work was completed in November 2016.

Refurbishing flood protection at Oslebshausen lock:

Oslebshausen lock marks the entrance to the Industriehafen terminals in Bremen. The Master Plan for Coastal Protection specifies that the present flood protection facilities of Oslebshausen lock (the lock gates, the lock heads and the flood protection line on both sides of the lock chamber) are not high enough. Structural designs have been drawn up to outline how the future flood protection in the lock area is to be refurbished for the future. An application for planning permission for this construction project was submitted in Q3 2016. Construction of this section of the flood barrier is scheduled to begin in 2017.

Prävention gegen die Sturmflut 12 km Deich zum Schutz der Bevölkerung

Hochwasserschutz Zum Schutz der Bevölkerung - Hochwasserschutzprojekte bei bremenports

Wir halten 22 Kilometer Deiche und Hochwasserschutzanlagen in Schuss und sorgen für die Grünpflege. Doch das ist nicht alles: Wir sind auch zuständig, wenn die Deiche ausgebaut und verstärkt werden müssen.

Um die Arbeit unserer Experten zu unterstreichen, finden Sie hier eine Auflistung und Erklärung zu aktuellen Hochwasserschutzprojekten:

Deichbau am nördlichen und südlichen Seedeich Bremerhavens:

Der im südlichen Stadtbereich und westlich des Fischereihafens liegende Seedeich erstreckt sich von der Fischereihafendoppelschleuse im Norden bis zur ehemaligen Landesgrenze mit Niedersachsen im Süden. Als erster Bauabschnitt des Offshore-Terminal Bremerhaven (OTB) wurde der südliche Bereich des Seedeichs im Herbst 2016 vorgezogen. Bei der Baumaßnahme handelt es sich um den Bau eines etwa 460 m langen Teilstücks im Süden des Seedeichs. Dafür muss das Profil des neu entstandenen Schutzwalls gestreckt werden: Der neue Abschnitt wird im Außenbereich abgeflacht und wächst somit ca. 12 Meter Richtung Weser. Ende 2017 soll dieser Bauabschnitt beendet sein.
Aber auch der nördliche Bereich des Seedeichs wird im Frühjahr 2017 ertüchtigt. Dieser Bereich wird in einem weiteren Bauabschnitt auf einer Länge von ca. 950 m im Außenbereich abgeflacht und wächst Richtung Weser.

Treibsellagerplatz und Treibselräumweg Luneplate:

Die Luneplate verfügt über einen Landesschutzdeich mit einer Gesamtlänge von 5.780 m. Für die ordnungsgemäße Unterhaltung dieser Bereiche ist eine Erweiterung der vorhandenen Infrastruktur erforderlich. Hierfür muss der nur teilweise vorhandene Treibselräumweg auf der Luneplate ausgebaut bzw. verlängert werden. Die Bedeutung dieser Maßnahme für den Küstenschutz ist hoch: Bereits im Maßnahmenkatalog zur Umsetzung des Generalplans Küstenschutz wurde dieser Ausbau aufgenommen. Nach Beendigung der Planungen wird in den Jahren 2017 bis 2018 ein Treibselräumweg im südlichen Bereich auf einer Länge von ca. 760 Metern und im nördlichen Bereich auf einer Länge von ca. 1.150 Metern der Luneplate vervollständigt.
Doch auch die ordnungsgemäße Entsorgung des Treibsels spielt eine wichtige Rolle: Zur Lagerung und Behandlung dieses Sels ist binnenseitig des Luneplatendeichs der Bau eines Treibsellagerplatzes geplant. Ab dem Jahr 2017 soll der Bau eines rund 25.000 m² großen befestigten Platzes zur Lagerung, Behandlung und Kompostierung des Treibsels beginnen.
Sowohl der Bau des Treibsellagerplatzes als auch der Bau des Treibselräumweges erfordern Kompensationsmaßnahmen. Die Kompensation für den Treibsellagerplatz erfolgt an der unteren Lune, wohingegen der Bau des Treibselräumweges durch Ausgleichsmaßnahmen in der Drepteniederung kompensiert wird.

Ertüchtigung des Hochwasserschutzes auf der Columbusinsel Bremerhaven:

Die Columbusinsel liegt zwischen der Nordschleuse und der Kaiserschleuse im Überseehafengebiet in Bremerhaven. Die vorhandenen Hochwasserschutzeinrichtungen auf der Columbusinsel weisen ein Unterbestick auf und müssen teilweise erhöht oder komplett neu gebaut werden. Für diesen Bereich wurde ein Bauentwurf erstellt, der beschreibt, wie der zukünftige Hochwasserschutz auf der Columbusinsel ertüchtigt werden soll. Im Herbst 2016 wurde der Planfeststellungsantrag für dieses Bauvorhaben eingereicht. Der Beginn für die bauliche Umsetzung für diesen Hochwasserschutzabschnitt ist ab dem Ende des Jahres 2017 geplant.

Ertüchtigung des Hochwasserschutzes an der Nordschleuse Bremerhaven:

Die Nordschleuse befindet sich zwischen der Columbusinsel und dem Containerterminal im Überseehafengebiet in Bremerhaven. Gemäß den Vorgaben des Generalplans Küstenschutz haben die Schleusentore, die Häupter sowie die Hochwasserschutzlinie beiderseits der Schleusenkammer Fehlhöhen aufgewiesen. Deshalb wurden diese Bauwerke in dem Zeitraum von 2014 bis zum Jahr 2016 an die Vorgaben des Generalplans Küstenschutz angepasst. Die Baumaßnahme wurde im November 2016 fertiggestellt.

Ertüchtigung des Hochwasserschutzes auf der Schleuse Oslebshausen:

Die Schleuse Oslebshausen bildet die Einfahrt zu den Industriehäfen in Bremen. Die vorhandenen Hochwasserschutzeinrichtungen im Bereich der Schleuse Oslebshausen (Schleusentore, die Häupter sowie die Hochwasserschutzlinie beiderseits der Schleusenkammer) weisen gemäß den Vorgaben des Generalplan Küstenschutz Fehlhöhen auf. Für diesen Bereich wurde ein Bauentwurf erstellt, der beschreibt, wie der zukünftige Hochwasserschutz im Bereich der Schleuse ertüchtigt werden soll. Im 3. Quartal 2016 wurde ein Genehmigungsantrag für dieses Bauvorhaben eingereicht. Der Beginn für die bauliche Umsetzung dieses Hochwasserschutzabschnitts ist für Jahr 2017 geplant.