x
31 May 2017

Luneplate was awarded with the ESPO Award 2016

bremenports’ commitment to protecting the environment was rewarded on 9 November, when it was presented with the ESPO Award by the European Sea Ports Organisation. In the category of “Nature in Ports”, Bremerhaven’s project for the compensatory mitigation site Luneplate won the award in competition with eleven other European ports, including Rotterdam, Antwerp and Le Havre. Managing Director Robert Howe accepted the prize on behalf of bremenports at the Palais d’Eqmond in Brussels.

Central compensatory mitigation site of outstanding importance for breeding, resting and migrant birds
Luneplate, a former island in the River Weser, is the central compensatory mitigation site for port construction projects such as Container Terminal 4 in Bremerhaven. The site covers several hundred hectares and was previously used for intensive farming. Since it was redesigned, wet grassland and a man-made tidal polder, with channels bordered by mudflats, sedge zones and tidal pools, provide habitats and refuges for numerous species, some of which are at risk of extinction. Luneplate plays a particularly important role as a breeding and resting place for migrant birds.

Observation platforms and hides
Valuable natural habitats have evolved here in Bremen’s youngest and largest nature reserve. No traffic is permitted on Luneplate to ensure that these habitats can develop undisturbed. An observation platform has been constructed on the eastern edge of the tidal polder from which visitors can view the eco-landscape. A number of hides have also been created, which allow visitors to observe lapwing, black-tailed godwits, barnacle, white-fronted and greylag geese without being seen themselves.

Picture h

x
31. Mai 2017

Luneplate mit ESPO Award 2016 ausgezeichnet

Das ökologische Engagement der bremenports wurde am 9. November mit dem „ESPO Award“ der europäischen Seehafenorganisation belohnt. Im Wettbewerb zum Thema „Natur in Häfen“ setzte sich Bremerhaven mit der ökologischen Ausgleichsfläche Luneplate gegen elf weitere europäische Häfen durch – darunter Rotterdam, Antwerpen und Le Havre. Geschäftsführer Robert Howe nahm die Auszeichnung im Palais d’Eqmond in Brüssel entgegen.

Zentrales Ausgleichsgebiet mit besonderer Bedeutung für Brut-, Rast- und Zugvögel
Die Luneplate, eine ehemalige Weserinsel, ist das zentrale ökologische Ausgleichsgebiet für Hafenbaubauprojekte wie den Bremerhavener Container-Terminal 4. Früher wurde das mehrere hundert Hektar große Areal intensiv von der Landwirtschaft genutzt. Nach der Umgestaltung bieten feuchtes Grünland und ein künstlich geschaffener Tidepolder mit wattgesäumten Prielen, Schilfzonen und Tümpeln Lebens- und Rückzugsräume für zahlreiche Arten, die zum Teil vom Aussterben bedroht sind. Besondere Bedeutung hat die Luneplate als Domizil für Brut-, Rast- und Zugvögel.

Aussichtstürme und Beobachtungsvertecke eingerichtet
Im jüngsten und größten Naturschutzgebiet des Landes Bremen sind wertvolle Biotope entstanden, die sich störungsfrei entwickeln sollen. Die Luneplate wurde deshalb für den Autoverkehr gesperrt. Besucher können von einem Aussichtsturm am östlichen Rand des Tidepolders einen Blick auf die Ökolandschaft werfen. An anderen Stellen wurden sogenannte Beobachtungsverstecke eingerichtet. Hier kann man Kiebitze, Uferschnepfen, Nonnen-, Bläss- und Graugänse beobachten, ohne von ihnen gesehen zu werden.

Pressemitteilung:

Europäischer Hafenpreis: bremenports freut sich über Auszeichnung für das Umweltprojekt Luneplate

Bildmaterial h