Press release

Work for the OTB Published on 26 February 2016

Specialists check the bed of the River Weser for munitions

The work for the Offshore Terminal Bremerhaven (OTB) has entered a new phase: over the past few days, a team of specialists has been looking for munitions and other obstructions at Blexer Bogen on behalf of bremenports, the port management company. On Thursday (25 February 2016), bremenports Managing Director Robert Howe announced that up to four ships a day are involved: a sounding vessel, a diving and crane vessel, a salvage and munitions boat and a pontoon.

“The work is making good progress,” said Howe. “Every day, the specialists tackle several potential salvage points. When the sounding vessel locates a suspicious area, a GPS system guides the diving and crane vessel to the exact location. Once the vessel is in position, it is fixed in place with integrated piles. The diver is then lowered to the riverbed alongside an air lift and examines a two-metre radius around the potential munitions response site, using a jetting lance. Site clutter – which can include old wire cables, sheet metal, armour stone or concrete debris – is hooked up and then lifted by crane onto the pontoon. If munitions are detected, Bremen’s munitions clearance department is called in to decide on further procedure.”

Howe added that 25 suspicious points had been cleared by the middle of this week, “The team found nothing apart from scrap and stones, and no munitions as yet thankfully.”

The diving and crane vessel is manned by divers, the skipper, signalman, equipment operator and deck hand. Howe expects the underwater munitions detection and clearance work to be completed in around six months. This part of the OTB project involves costs of around 3.5 million euros.

Teams are also searching for munitions and other obstacles on the site of the former airport, after several hectares of land to the west of the former runway were cleared in January.

Downloads:

Holger Bruns Press officer

bremenports GmbH & Co. KG

+49 471 309 01-103
Write e-mail

x
Pressemitteilung Aktuelles rund um die Häfen

Arbeiten für den OTB Veröffentlicht am 26. Februar 2016

Spezialisten suchen am Wesergrund nach Kampfmitteln

Die Arbeiten für den Offshore-Terminal Bremerhaven (OTB) sind in eine neue Phase getreten. Am Blexer Bogen lässt die Hafengesellschaft bremenports seit einigen Tagen nach Kampfmitteln und anderen Störkörpern suchen. Wie bremenports-Geschäftsführer Robert Howe am Donnerstag (25. Februar 2016) mitteilte, sind auf der Weser dafür täglich bis zu vier Schiffe im Einsatz: ein Peilschiff, ein Tauch- und Kranschiff, ein Rettungs- und Munitionsboot sowie ein Ponton.

„Die Arbeiten kommen gut voran“, sagte Howe. „Die Spezialisten nehmen sich jeden Tag mehrere Bergungspunkte vor. Hat das Peilschiff eine verdächtige Stelle geortet, wird das Tauch- und Kranschiff mit Hilfe des Ortungssystems GPS punktgenau auf Position gebracht. Ist die richtige Position erreicht, wird das Schiff mit integrierten Pfählen fixiert. Dann lässt sich der Taucher neben einem sogenannten Luftheber bis zum Wesergrund hinab und untersucht die mögliche Fundstelle in einem Radius von zwei Metern. Dabei wird auch mit der Spüllanze gearbeitet. Störende Gegenstände – zum Beispiel alte Drahtseile, Blechteile, Wasserbausteine oder Betonreste – werden angeschlagen und anschließend vom Kran auf den Ponton verladen. Wird ein Kampfmittel gefunden, bestimmt der Kampfmittelräumdienst Bremen das weitere Vorgehen.“

Wie Howe ergänzte, wurden bis Mitte dieser Woche 25 Verdachtspunkte geräumt: „Dabei hat das Team nur Schrott und Steine gefunden – zum Glück bisher keine Kampfmittel.“

Auf dem Tauch- und Kranschiff arbeiten Taucher, Schiffsführer, Signalmann, Geräteführer und Decksmann. Howe rechnet damit, dass die wasserseitigen Kampfmittelräumarbeiten in etwa sechs Monaten beendet werden. Dieser Teil des OTB-Projekts ist mit Kosten von etwa 3,5 Millionen Euro verbunden.

Am Rand des ehemaligen Flughafengeländes wird jetzt ebenfalls nach Kampfmitteln und anderen Hindernissen gesucht. Dafür wurde im Januar eine mehrere Hektar große Fläche am westlichen Rand der ehemaligen Start- und Landebahn gerodet.

Downloads:

Holger Bruns Pressesprecher

bremenports GmbH & Co. KG

0471 309 01-103
E-Mail schreiben